Can Vector Loops Simplify Theo Jansen's Linkage Mechanism Equations?

In summary, the individual is studying the work of Theo Jansen and is attempting to derive general equations for motion, velocity, and acceleration for each point of his linkage mechanism. They have found 5 vector loops for the system, but are struggling with 10 unknowns. They believe there should only be one equation due to the system's one degree of freedom, and have provided pictures of their work so far. They are looking for help with organizing the equations into a matrix and plotting the system's motion in Matlab or Octave.
Jawz
I'm studying the work of Theo Jansen and want to derive a set of general equations for motion, velocity and acceleration at each point of his linkage mechanism. I've read a general equation can be derived through the use of vector loops but I am having some trouble as my equations have 10 unknowns. I could derive equations on paper, but the brute force strategy I am thinking seems to be too much work. The pictures show my set up for each loop. I have found 5 loops for the system but have 10 unknowns. I would think there should be only 1 equation necessary since their is only 1 degree of freedom; each unknown is determined by the driving angle.

The pictures are of my work so far. First, the diagram of the system. Then, the constants and unknowns. Third, these are the vector loops from point to point. Finally, the equations are written as x and y compenents.

The angles are between the x-axis and the rod going in a counter clockwise direction.

The rod lengths are denoted as l, m, and a1 through a10.

Sorry if the pictures are poor in quality. I've tried to make everything as clear as possible.

I'm trying to find some way to organize these equations into a matrix then plot the motion of the system in Matlab or Octave.

Any help is appreciated.
CAM00893.jpg
CAM00894.jpg
CAM00896.jpg
CAM00897.jpg

Likes Milan Bok
Physics news on Phys.org