Causality in differential equations

In summary: A system is causal if its state at one time is causally related to its state at another time." In summary, this system is not causal because the equation states that if the number of output states exceeds the number of input states then it is impossible to control the inputs to achieve the correct outputs.
JTC
Hello,

I am studying control theory. And I have encountered something I have never considered or thought about.

Consider a system with y as the output differential equation and u as the input.

any(n) + ... + a1y(1) + a0y = bmu(m) + ... + b1u(1) + b0u

Here, the subscripts indicate different constants (I am considering a Linear, Time Invariant system).
The superscripts indicate the order of the derivative.

I have now read that if m > n, the system is not causal.

Could someone explain:
Without reference to discrete time steps as encountered in a numerical system.
Without reference to the poles and zeros of the Laplace transform...

And with just looking at the equation above and the order of m and n, can someone explain why
m < n is the requirement for causality?

Physics news on Phys.org
Perhaps it helps to think about the very simple DE: ##F = ma = mx^{(2)}## where ##x## is position. This is Newton's third law. of motion. We think of the force ##F## as the input and ##x## as the output. The force affects what the value of ##x## will be in the future, because it affects a higher derivative of ##x##. Generalising that, we can think of the inputs affecting the future of the outputs if they affect higher derivatives of the outputs than there are of the inputs, which corresponds to ##n>m## in your equation. In a sense the 'distance into the future' that the impact of one of the variables propagates is related to the highest order of the derivatives of the other variable in the equation. the variable with the lowest order propagates its influence furthest into the future.