Changing calculus textbook from Tom Apostol to James Stewart

In summary, Stewart's Calculus is a terrible textbook that is only useful for students who are not good at mathematics. Apostol is a better book that is more suitable for university students.
AliGh
Hi
I read T.Apostol calculus and linear algebra in summer until page 230.
Now in the first year of university , the math teacher told us to study James Stewart calculus (one problem is that she said we have to read the 2nd edition because that's the version she studied during her years)
Now I'm studying computer programming and i would love to study physics and mathematics . I don't know what to do (currently studying introduction to mechanics k&k for myself)
Is this textbook as good as the one i used to read for going deeper into physics ?

Sorry for bad english by the way

Physics news on Phys.org
Stewart is a horrible textbook and Apostol is way better. Seriously, if you were able to study up to 230 pages of Apostol, and you liked it, you will be disgusted by Stewart.
That said, it's not that Stewart will leave you underprepared for physics.

Likes AliGh
micromass said:
Stewart is a horrible textbook and Apostol is way better. Seriously, if you were able to study up to 230 pages of Apostol, and you liked it, you will be disgusted by Stewart.
That said, it's not that Stewart will leave you underprepared for physics.
What makes it horrible ? I had no problem with Apostol and it wasn't difficult (to understand)
Well the level of students is really low here . I showed introduction to mechanics K&K to physics teacher (they teach halliday for physics here its uselessly too long) he said its on a much higher level than what we teach here