Check my understanding of Time Dilation and Length Contraction

In summary, the conversation discusses the concepts of Time Dilation and Length Contraction in the context of Special Relativity. The speakers clarify that these phenomena are not experienced by oneself, but rather measured in relation to another observer's frame of reference. It is also mentioned that the terms "proper time" and "proper length" refer to the time and length measured by clocks and rulers at rest with respect to the object being measured. The conversation concludes with a recommendation to look into Minkowski diagrams for a better understanding of these concepts.
guyvsdcsniper
TL;DR Summary
You either experience Time Dilation and Proper Length or Proper Time and Length Contraction. Is this correct?
I just started learning about Special Relativity and have come upon the topics of Time dilation and Length contraction. Its a bit abstract for me and I just want to cross ref my knowledge here and see if someone can tell me if I am understanding this correctly. I've attached an excerpt of a passage in my textbook just for reference.

So if I am at rest and a particle passes by my at the speed of light, I am witnessing the particle with time dilation. If I was the particle, I would be witnessing proper time.

In the second instance, If I am at rest and measure the creation and decay of the particle then I am measuring Proper Length. This is because I am at rest wrt to the particle. But if I am the particle, moving at the speed of light, everything passing by me appears shorter because of how fast I am going?

So you either experience Time Dilation and Proper Length or Proper Time and Length Contraction.

Thats what i got from reading. Maybe there is other combinations of these 4 properties but for right now, is this correct?

S
Screen Shot 2022-01-15 at 12.45.12 PM.png

Physics news on Phys.org
quittingthecult said: