What Are Affordable Gift Ideas for a Physics Enthusiast?

In summary, a 34-year-old adult who is changing professions to physics is seeking ideas for items to add to their Christmas wish list. Their primary interests are in quantum physics and astrophysics, and they are considering requesting a free catalog from Edmund Scientific, where they may find items within their price range that can further their education in the sciences. They have also mentioned a gyroscope as a potential item of interest.
Ascendant78
I am a freshman in physics at this point, and looking to get some ideas of some things that I might want to add to my Christmas wish list involving my profession? Although this probably won't make much of a difference, I am a 34 year old adult changing professions to one I have always loved, and I would really like some new toys to play with that I will enjoy and at the same time will teach me more about physics.

My primary passions are in quantum physics and astrophysics, though I plan to get my doctorate in something involved in quantum. I was considering a microscope, though I felt this isn't going to help me learn a whole lot about physics, but rather chemistry. Also, a telescope is off the table. Nobody that is giving me gifts has enough money to get one that would be very powerful, and I know I would get tired of it fast. Besides, I find plenty of images from space online.

So, does anyone have any other ideas? The price range should be around $10-$40 or so. I appreciate any feedback anyone can provide.

Physics news on Phys.org
My suggestion is to request this free catalog from Edmund Scientific:
http://www.scientificsonline.com/catalogsignup/subscribe/index

Once you have it chances are you will find some items that interest you and are within your price limitations.

Good luck with furthering your education in the sciences!

Cheers,
Bobbywhy