Components of Tangent Space Vector on Parametrized Curve

In summary: So I'm not sure what you're trying to say.In summary, the conversation discusses the use of basis vectors in tangent space and the concept of contravariant vectors. It also touches on the idea of parameterization and the relationship between coordinate basis vectors and partial derivatives. The expert clarifies that the coordinate basis vectors are given by ##\big\{\frac{\partial}{\partial x^i}\big\}## and the notation ##\{\vec e_i\}## is just a different notation for the same basis vectors. They also mention that there can be non-coordinate basis vectors that are not given by ##\big\{\frac{\partial}{\partial x
Shirish
I'm studying 'A Most Incomprehensible Thing - Notes towards a very gentle introduction to the mathematics of relativity' by Collier, specifically the section 'More detail - contravariant vectors'.

To give some background, I'm aware that basis vectors in tangent space are given by ##\big\{\frac{\partial}{\partial x^i}\big\}##. I'm also aware that if we act these operators on the coordinate functions ##x^i##, then we get a specific basis ##\{\vec e_i\}## whose elements are tangent to the coordinate curves that that point. This specific basis is commonly used as far as I understand.

Then in the 'More detail - contravariant vectors' section:

We can now state that a contravariant vector is a tangent vector to a parameterised curve. Let's see how this works. If the parameter of the curve is ##\lambda##, and using a coordinate system ##x^i## the components of the tangent vector ##\vec V## are given by $$V^i=\frac{dx^i}{d\lambda}$$
I'm a little confused by this paragraph. Down the line there's another related paragraph: