Comprehensive math books for summer self-study

In summary: BTW, I'm majoring in physics too.In summary, the person is undecided about which book to buy and is unsure about what his goals are for learning math.
ahmed markhoos
Hello,

I'm planning to spend my summer studying some physics and maths books.

Physics books aren't my problem, math books are. I took " calculus 1/2 & differential equations " till now and a material of mathematical methods (vector analysis/general coordinates/complex/gamma-beta functions/ differential equations).

I was thinking about one of two books:
1- Mathematical methods in the physical sciences By: Mary Boas (We used it for mathematical methods).
2- Mathematics: Its content, methods and meaning By: A. D. Aleksandrov , A. N. Kolmogorov ,M. A. Lavrent’ev.

They say they are both good, but I'm really hesitated between the two and between other good books.

Physics news on Phys.org
Those are very very different books, both in style and in contents. Maybe you should tell us what your goals are? Why do you want to learn math?

Likes ahmed markhoos
micromass said:
Those are very very different books, both in style and in contents. Maybe you should tell us what your goals are? Why do you want to learn math?

Thank you for your reply.

I have actually two main goals:
1- I want to prepare myself mathematically for subjects like quantum/statistical and physics as whole.
2- I'm interested in math even if it's not related with physics.