Condensed Matter, Materials vs. Optics, Photonics and Optoelectronics

In summary, when deciding on a specialization for a future career, it is important to consider both career stability and relevance to your studies. It is difficult to determine which specialization would be better in terms of future growth, but it is important to choose the one that you will enjoy the most. It is also important to have resilience and adaptability, as the job market can be volatile and industries can undergo radical restructuring. To remain adaptable, it is important to continue learning new skills and staying up to date with industry trends.
Agony
Hi, I'm currently in my last year of undergrad and I'm wondering about which specialization I should pursue. I'm looking for career stability, I don't mind leaving academia I'd just like to employ what I study in school in my future career. So, to my questions

1) In terms of career stability and relevance to topic studied, which one of these is better? (I understand there is a lot of light-matter research going on in both fields and that it's a difficult question.)
2) Which one of these might expect better future growth both in academia and private sector (both in terms of my own personal and the field's as a whole)?

While there is a lot of overlap between these two fields, I really want to give my best years and focus to the one, which will bring me greater enjoynment over time. I'm interested in both of these fields and equally enjoyed my optics and solid state courses. (Yet to see what's soft matter, quantum optics etc. about, so I'm still a bit naive)

Thank you very much for your insights!

Physics news on Phys.org
never a bad decision to study optics and condensed matter physics, they are entwined and the condensed matter group at the APS has by far the largest membership.