Connecting Line 1 to Line 2 without a load in between

• Thread starter fourthindiana
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Line Load
In summary, when my instructor wired up the electronics practice board, he used an alligator clip wire to go from line 1 to line 2 without going through a load. He said that this would cause an electrical malfunction.
fourthindiana
November 17, 2018.jpg

Preface to post: Through this post I am going to be referring to line 1 and line 2. When I write about line 1 and line 2, I am writing about electrical leg #1 and electrical leg #2 respectively. Perhaps electrical engineers are used to calling the lines of electrical power in a residence "legs" rather than lines.

I'm a student at a trade school, majoring in HVAC. My instructor is an expert on installing, repairing, and maintaining both commercial and residential HVAC systems, but my instructor is only an HVAC technician, not an electrical engineer. One can be an expert HVAC technician without knowing what is happening in an HVAC system at the atomic/subatomic level. Therefore, my instructor cannot help me understand this at the subatomic level.In my HVAC class at the trade school, we have an electronic practice board which consists of two 115V legs of power and multiple relays, contactors, and other electronic parts and light bulbs at the top of the board. The light bulbs symbolize loads such as condenser fans, compressors, etc. In class several days ago I wired up the electronics practice board with an electrical wire going through a normally closed relay to connect line 1 to line 2. I don't know the exact words my instructor used, but my instructor said that using an electrical wire to go through a normally closed relay to connect line 1 to line 2 would cause some sort of electrical malfunction. My instructor might have said that connecting line 1 to line 2 through a normally closed relay would cause a short.