Correcting results to fit Rutherford's Scattering Formula

In summary, In order to recreate the Rutherford Scattering experiment, you need to correct for the cone-shaped scattering that happens in reality. You need to know the distance to the receiver, the number of atoms in the target, and the angle off-axis at which you measured the scattering. Additionally, you need to know how the particles scatter off of a hard spherical target.
Fabris
I'm a Physics undergraduate at University and in my labs module I had to recreate the Rutherford Scattering experiment. The basic setup was similar to this:
q1.png

My problem is that this setup only records data in one plane and not 3D. In reality the particles are scattered in a sort of cone similar to this:
750px-ScatteringDiagram.svg.png

One of the tasks is to correct for this so that I can compare my results to Rutherford's scattering formula. I have no idea how to do it and after looking all over the internet all I could come up with talks about solid angle which I haven't even covered in University. I think I may be over-complicating this issue and I'm hoping someone can help me.

Science news on Phys.org