Definition of a Lorentzian Wormhole

In summary, Matt Visser defines a traversable wormhole as a compact region in Minkowski spacetime with a topology of the form R × Σ, where Σ is a three-manifold with nontrivial topology and a boundary of the form S2. The hypersurfaces Σ are all spacelike. This means that the region contains a quasipermanent intrauniverse wormhole.
Falcus
I was reading into traversable wormholes when I came across this definition from Matt Visser; 'If aMinkowski spacetimecontains a compact region Ω, and if the topology of Ω is of the form Ω ~ R × Σ, where Σ is a three-manifold of the nontrivial topology, whose boundary has topology of the form ∂Σ ~ S2, and if, furthermore, thehypersurfacesΣ are all spacelike, then the region Ω contains a quasipermanent intrauniverse wormhole'. My knowledge of relativity is extremely minimal as I am currently studying A levels. I was wondering if someone could break this down for me? I have come across a lot of the terminology before and didn't understand it at the time so thought maybe it was finally time to ask.

Thanks in advance
Falcus

Physics news on Phys.org
Falcus said:
I came across this definition from Matt Visser

Can you give a reference to the specific article or paper? It would help to have more context.

PeterDonis said:
Can you give a reference to the specific article or paper? It would help to have more context.

I am guessing the book : Lorentzian wormholes

What is a Lorentzian Wormhole?

A Lorentzian Wormhole is a hypothetical tunnel-like structure in space-time that connects two distant points in the universe. It is a concept derived from Einstein's theory of General Relativity, and it is believed to have the potential to allow for faster-than-light travel.

How is a Lorentzian Wormhole different from a Black Hole?