Developing a Flow Meter with Microcontroller & IR Sensors

In summary, the goal of the three channels is to increase the precision of the read. Lucian is having trouble with the read, and he thinks that the problem is related to the fluid mechanics. He is trying to develop a mechanic prototype that will segment the liquid with no turbulent flow (or less turbulent possible).
Lucian Silva
Hi evryone.
My name is Lucian, I'm a Computer Engineer.
I'm working in a project of a company to develop a flow meter using a microcontroller and Infrared sensors.
I'm stuck in the mechanic fluid part.
We're trying to develop this product basing in the mechanic model of the attached picture.
The liquid will enter in the top and pairs of IR leds and Phototransistors and the A/D converter of the microcontroller will read the voltage oscillation caused by the difference of the density of the liquid.
The liquid will pass with pulsating vacuum.
The goal of the 3 channels is to segment the liquid and increase the precision of the read.
I'm having sobre problems with the voltage read and I'm starting to think that this problems are related with fluid mechanics like turbulent flow.
We're developing this mechanics prototypes using a 3-D Printer.
My goal is to develop a mechanic prototype that will segment the liquid with no turbulent flow (or less tuebulent possible).

I don't know much about fluid mechanic, but I studied a little bit about Reynold Number and turbulent flow.

If someone could help I would be grateful.

Thanks and sorry for the bad english.

Attachments

• Untitled.jpg
    Untitled.jpg
    12.8 KB · Views: 442
Engineering news on Phys.org
Lucian Silva said:
The goal of the 3 channels is to segment the liquid and increase the precision of the read.
The squared off ends of the two segments bounding the center stream are going to cause turbulence (be they upstream or downstream).

Likes Lucian Silva
Hi Bystander, thanks for the answer.