Do EFEs Physically Describe Something?

• B
  • Thread starter Megaton
  • Start date
In summary, the Einstein field equations relate energy and momentum (I think) to curvature, then to local flat geometry. They are a purely mathematical tool, and do not describe anything in particular (like a rotating spherical object). The geodesic equation is not the same as the EFE, and topology and geometry are different things.
Megaton
Hi I'm new to this so please don't butcher me. I am just a enthusiastic individual with a huge interest in theoretical physics.

In GR, the Einstein field equations relate energy and momentum (I think) to curvature, then to local flat geometry (I think) my question is do the EFEs physically describe something (ie: a rotating spherical object like Earth or a large nebula etc...) or are they a purely mathematical tool used to describe local geometry in relation to energy and momentum. I know the geodesic equation is needed to explain the "force" of gravity which results, I'm just wondering if they also to describe the topology as well.

I have always found this confusing, and can not seem to get a clear answer on it, thanks to anyone would cold help.

Physics news on Phys.org
Megaton said:
the Einstein field equations relate energy and momentum (I think) to curvature

More precisely, they relate stress-energy, which includes energy and momentum (density) but also includes pressure and other stresses, to a portion of curvature, the Einstein tensor.

Megaton said:
then to local flat geometry

I'm not sure what you mean by this. The fact that spacetime can be considered flat locally is not due to the EFE (although the EFE is certainly consistent with it).

Megaton said:
do the EFEs physically describe something (ie: a rotating spherical object like Earth or a large nebula etc...)

Solutions to the EFE, i.e., metric tensors, physically describe spacetimes that can contain various kinds of gravitating objects, like planets, stars, black holes, etc.