Do You Think Photography is an Art?

In summary, photography can be art, but it's more technical than creative. Technical photography can be artistic by accident.
BadgerBadger92
I am an artistic photographer and am wondering if others think it is an art or not and why

Science news on Phys.org
Artistic photography could well be art.
Technical photography not so much, but can be artistic by accident.

Here is some of my work. Would this be classified as art photography?

Attachments

• E234C193-D129-495B-A6C4-4710AC41AF09.jpeg
    E234C193-D129-495B-A6C4-4710AC41AF09.jpeg
    73.4 KB · Views: 106
  • 8B7C3F7B-2A44-4392-A5BE-DCE59A184A78.jpeg
    8B7C3F7B-2A44-4392-A5BE-DCE59A184A78.jpeg
    25.8 KB · Views: 102
  • 06E6B3E6-E7A0-42ED-AFFB-716E66951C86.jpeg
    06E6B3E6-E7A0-42ED-AFFB-716E66951C86.jpeg
    25 KB · Views: 109
  • EB0934AE-816C-43BE-9DC8-700E68D4EDC2.jpeg
    EB0934AE-816C-43BE-9DC8-700E68D4EDC2.jpeg
    81.2 KB · Views: 108
Likes PeroK
Sounds more like a question for an arts forum.

Likes Hamiltonian and phinds
BadgerBadger92 said:
I am an artistic photographer and am wondering if others think it is an art or not and why
My first reaction is that the definition of an artistic person and an art form are different. I need to think about that more...

It is definitely an art, at least, and this is why, if the photo shows the perspective of the photographer and not simply a postcard or smartphone picture. A good photo tells a story, a snapshot does not.

We have had a photo contest:
https://www.physicsforums.com/forums/photo-contest-archives.216/
and 90% of the photos were more or less boring obsolete. Even the votings rarely resulted in the best photo, only in the funniest, often not even that. So photography is not only an art, it is also an art only few can really value. But this isn't any different from, say painting.

Likes Klystron and berkeman
Of course it's art. It's a creative way of evoking a reaction from viewers.

• Informative