Does Maxwell's Demon violate the 2nd Law of Thermodynamics

In summary: A History, a Theory, a Flood, New York: Pantheon, 2011In summary, the conversation discusses a recent paper on the experimental realization of an autonomous Maxwell's demon and the implications of Koski's new apparatus. The authors do not claim to violate the 2nd Law of Thermodynamics, but they are able to reduce entropy of the system under test. The significance of this paper lies in the connection between thermodynamics and information theory, with the possibility of "information-powered devices". Further explanations can be found in papers by Charles H. Bennett and J. Bub, as well as the book "Information" by J. Gleick.
KMote
I'm a newbie (obviously), but I just read this recent paper describing an "experimental realization of an autonomous Maxwell’s demon" (along with this review). I think I understand the general concept of Maxwell's thought experiment well enough (from a layman's perspective), but I'm having difficulty understanding the implications of Koski's new apparatus. The authors of the paper don't specifically claim to be violating the 2nd Law of Thermo; nevertheless, they are reducing entropy of the system under test (i.e. temperature drop). Can someone help me understand the significance of this paper? (I'm particularly interested in the meaning and plausibility of so-called "information-powered devices".)

Physics news on Phys.org
KMote said: