Effective Hamiltonian to Rotational Term Values

philhellenephysicist
TL;DR Summary
How does one go from choosing an effective Hamiltonian for a single vibrational level to obtaining algebraic expressions for the rotational term values?
Hello, I am fairly new to the world of molecular spectroscopy, so I apologize for any ignorance on my part. For the last few months, I've been working on a diatomic spectral simulation tool and have reached a point where I want to incorporate more advanced theory to model complex interactions in the molecule without needing to resort to a bunch of different hardcoded formulae. So far, I've been using the Born-Oppenheimer approximation to find the transition energies, that is ##T = T_e + G + F##. This has worked well for a simulation of molecular oxygen, for which I used rotational term values tabulated in Herzberg's Spectra of Diatomic Molecules for ##^3\Sigma## states. However, adding more molecules involves different molecular term symbols, different coupling cases, etc., each of which require their own rotational terms. Now, Herzberg does have an excellent number of different formulae for all kinds of coupling and uncoupling cases, but I don't want to have a bunch of hardcoded cases in my program and would much rather be able to derive the energies through more fundamental means.

When I started working on my tool, I read about PGOPHER (a spectral tool which predicts transitions, does line fitting, etc.). Their website includes a small short course, which outlines the methods used to find transitions between two states on this page using matrix elements of an effective Hamiltonian. I essentially want to replicate this method of obtaining the line transitions by understanding the underlying theory.