Effects of altitude on liquid CO2 utilization

• I
  • Thread starter MrFreezeMiser
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Altitude
MrFreezeMiser
I’m a contractor using liquid CO2 (LCO2) to freeze water pipes (for valve maintenance) while the water service remains at full static pressure (i.e., water is not flowing).

I do the work in two locations: (1) near Denver, CO, where the altitude is 5,300 feet and (2) near Detroit, MI where the altitude is 1,000ft. Interestingly, I’ve found it takes WAY MORE LCO2 to do the same work in Denver than Detroit. At this point, I don’t have any data collected (i.e., water temp, ambient temp, etc.), so initially I’m looking at things theoretically with anecdotal observations.

My question here is: Assuming exact same situations (i.e., same copper pipe material, same size, same potable water temperature, etc.), how could one calculate and/or quantify the effects of altitude on LCO2 utilization? In other words, given the exact same work but at two materially-different altitudes, how many fewer pipes would be expected to be frozen with the same volume of LCO2 (e.g., standard 20-lb cylinder) in Denver vs. Detroit?

The last freeze in Detroit was a 1-inch type-M copper pipe, and it took 10-minutes (note: consistent with manufacturer’s specifications ) and used approximately 3-lbs of LCO2. The manufacturer of the freeze equipment does not provide adjustments for freeze times with higher altitudes, but I can state in Denver it seems to take a lot more time and use more LCO2.

Thank you in advance. -Mr. Freeze Miser

Last edited by a moderator:
Likes Lnewqban
Science news on Phys.org