Effects of engine torque on engine to chassis mountings

In summary, the conversation discusses a design for a go-kart-like vehicle that involves calculations for mounting a motorcycle engine to the main chassis via steel rods. The engine torque and potential stress and failure in the steel rods are questioned, along with the availability of formulas for calculation. The conversation also mentions the lack of a definite design and the need for proper support for the weight and torque of the engine. The specific engine mentioned is a Yamaha R6 with a horsepower of 110.
Edward97
I'm currently working on a design for a go-kart-like vehicle which involves some calculations. The engine used is a motorcycle engine and it is mounted to the main chassis via steel rods. I would like to know how the engine torque (i have an estimated value of ~45Nm) will cause stress and failure in the steel rods and if there are any formulas that be could used for this calculation.

This is my first time working with an engine and designing a vehicle so any help will be much appreciated.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Edward97 said:
I'm currently working on a design for a go-kart-like vehicle which involves some calculations. The engine used is a motorcycle engine and it is mounted to the main chassis via steel rods. I would like to know how the engine torque (i have an estimated value of ~45Nm) will cause stress and failure in the steel rods and if there are any formulas that be could used for this calculation.

This is my first time working with an engine and designing a vehicle so any help will be much appreciated.
Welcome to the PF.

Why are you using steel rods? That doesn't seem like a very solid way to mount an engine. Seems like at the very least you should be using plates instead of rods.

Can you Upload a sketch of the chassis and the engine?

berkeman said:
Welcome to the PF.