Einstein's light clock thought experiment

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of time dilation and how it relates to Einstein's light clock experiment. The conclusion is that the twin paradox arises due to a failure to correctly apply the relativity of simultaneity. The conversation also touches on the idea of someone traveling at near the speed of light and the resulting difference in time experienced on Earth and during the journey. Further reading on the twin paradox is recommended.
David CLayton
I'm an engineer who has an amateur interest in physics. I have been reading about Einsteins light clock experiment. I understand the principal that when a light clock on a train etc is moving relative to a standing still observer then the light must travel a longer distance per tick. given that that the speed of light is the same for all observers, this means that time will pass at a slower rate for the person on the train.
My question is this, would the light clock with the stationary observer on the platform appear to be moving to be moving relative to the person on the train giving the same effect as the light would appear to be traveling in a triangular motion. My basic understanding was that we could not determine who was at absolute motion.
Apologies if this is a basic error I am making but I cannot get my head around this.

Physics news on Phys.org
David CLayton said:
would the light clock with the stationary observer on the platform appear to be moving to be moving relative to the person on the train giving the same effect

Yes. The light clock on the train appears to run slow to the observer on the platform, and the light clock on the platform appears to run slow to the observer on the train.

David CLayton said:
My basic understanding was that we could not determine who was at absolute motion.

That's correct.

Likes David CLayton
If Peter's reply seems like it leads to contradiction, google "relativity of simultaneity".

Likes David CLayton