Electrical Engineering and Digital Night Vision

In summary, the conversation discusses the production of night vision systems and the various roles and skills involved. These include electrical engineering, physics, analog and digital design, and optics. The conversation also touches on the importance of self-research and understanding of acronyms in this field.
kaleikaumaka
Hello,
I am an Electrical Engineering student at the University of Georgia and will have to give a presentation on my dream job. I have to give specifics on what I would need to know. If I could get some input or maybe a job application that states the requirements. I know Electrical Engineering are not the only ones involved in the making of this equipment. Any input would be gratefully appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi and welcome to PF.
I will give you our stock answer to this sort of question and that is "What have you read and what have you found out so far?"
We all get tetchy at the idea of giving anyone help if we can't see they are helping themselves. Press the right buttons and you may be flooded with ideas from PF.

Also that field seems pretty narrow - and IMO almost at a technical end from a mass market / need standpoint, camera sensors are sooo sensitive to low light these days it seems most of the obstacles have been overcome... but look up the companies producing these devices and review the spec sheets, are most of the specifications, especially the ones they brag about, electrical?

There are 3 main parts of producing night vision systems. The optics, the power supply/control system, and the DSP.
The are usually electrical engineers and physicists. This involves developing the optical systems per system requirements and then giving the power supply/control system teams requirements for the optical systems. skills are E&M, analog design, digital design, and optics