Electron in the double-slit experiment

In summary: What do you mean by the electron takes all possible trajectories simultaneously? Do you think it decides where on the screen it wants to hit first, then gets there by all possible trajectories? Or, if it sets out on all possible trajectories, how...
Jens Lundell
Newbie here: Is the (single) electron leaving the "machine" in the famous double-slit experiment the same one hitting the screen? Please give a short explanation on how this is proved, thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
Electrons are indistiguishable. There is no way to mark, label or number an electron to distinguish it from others. Technically, therefore, all you know is that an electron left the machine and an electron hit the screen. In fact, it would make no sense to ask if it was "the same electron".

Likes Shakir, bhobba and Jens Lundell
PeroK said:
Electrons are indistiguishable. There is no way to mark, label or number an electron to distinguish it from others. Technically, therefore, all you know is that an electron left the machine and an electron hit the screen. In fact, it would make no sense to ask if it was "the same electron".

Thank you for the fast answer. But isn't this huge, the fact that we don't really know if the electron we fired is the one hitting the screen??

Jens Lundell said:
Thank you for the fast answer. But isn't this huge, the fact that we don't really know if the electron we fired is the one hitting the screen??

It's not that we don't know (whether it's the same electron), it's that it doesn't make sense to ask the question.

Likes Jens Lundell
PeroK said:
It's not that we don't know (whether it's the same electron), it's that it doesn't make sense to ask the question.

I recognize this type of answer from somewhere. But I'll play along: why does it not make sense to ask the question? :)

Jens Lundell said: