EM wave near field propagating faster than light?

In summary: I can't do that, because it's beyond the scope of what I know. I suggest you read the paper and then come back and ask me more specific questions.In summary, Sources say that there is no limit to the phase velocity, and that only the speed of the wave front must be less than the speed of light.
DoobleD
Sources : paper here and http://www.quora.com/What-is-the-phase-of-the-EM-waves (fifth paragraph).

This is beyond my knowledge so I am not looking for an explanation of the phenomenon. But I thought nothing could go faster than light so I am very surprised.

Are there exceptions to the speed of light as a maximum limit?

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
There are no exceptions. The ##c > c_0## in the article is the group speed.
As a student I had to solve this problem:

Imagine a bar moving in the vertical direction with a speed 90% of the speed of light. It is at an angle ##\alpha## with the horizontal where ##\tan \alpha = 0.5##.
The bar passes another bar that is horizontal and at rest. With what speed does the crossing point of the two bars move in the x direction ?

(The answer is 1.8 c. But that doesn't mean things can move faster than light).​

There's no limit for the phase velocity. Only the speed of the wave front must be ##\leq c##, and that's always the case, as proven by Sommerfeld in 1907. There are two famous papers by Sommerfeld and Brillouin somwhat later (but they are in German). You find a good discussion of this issue in the textbook by Jackson, Classical Electrodynamics, even with the citation of an experimental observation of the Sommerfeld and Brillouin precursers.

BTW, it's better to give an explicit link to an abstract on the arxiv:

http://arxiv.org/abs/physics/0001063

I haven't read the paper, but note that it is not published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it's typed in Word. Thus, you have to read the paper with great sceptical care ;-)).

BvU said: