Event at Aplao, Peru Feb 2nd 2004

• Thread starter Goldfinger
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses a general paper being written about an event that occurred in Peru in 2004. The link provided leads to information about the event in Spanish. The speaker has no knowledge of astrophysics and asks a question about the mass of the meteorite that caused an explosion with a 3.8 reading on the Richter scale. The responder explains that the exact answer is not possible to determine without more information, but in general, the larger the mass of the meteorite, the greater its potential to produce a high Richter scale reading.
Goldfinger
Hi Everyone:

I'm writing a general paper on an event that happened near Aplao,Peru on Feb 2nd,2004.

Here's the link:http://geocities.com/astroycpa/meteoritoaqp2feb2004.html

It's in Spanish and can be translated using Babelfish or Google text translations.

I have no knowledge of astrophysics whatsoever and would like to ask a few questions. I know there's going to be a lot of variables but I was just hoping some some general responses.

Assuming a density of 3.3 grams per cubic centimeter, how large would the mass have been to create an explosion that produced a 3.8 reading on the Richter scale?

I have other questions but I'll just start with this one first.

Thanks

Steve

Astronomy news on Phys.org
The exact answer to your question is not possible to provide without a lot more information. Generally, the larger the mass of the meteorite, the greater the energy released when it explodes in the atmosphere. The energy released is related to the size of the Richter scale reading, but it cannot be determined exactly without more data. In general, the larger the mass of the meteorite, the greater its potential to produce a large Richter scale reading.

Related to Event at Aplao, Peru Feb 2nd 2004

What happened at the Event at Aplao, Peru on Feb 2nd 2004?