Exploring a Career in Medical Physics: Advice from PhD Physicists

In summary: If you can convince your advisor that your current research is relevant to medical physics, then you may have a better chance of being accepted into one of the programs. You could also look into doing a online part-time master first, like the one in UCL. This would give you a good foundation in medical physics and could help you stand out from the other candidates.
Lyra
Hi All,

I am currently doing a PhD in condensed matter physics (experiment) and want to enter medical physics. My ideal job is more like a mix of research and clinical as I want to be able to actually help people. I wonder whether anyone has any suggestions on what I should do. I already have a plan but I'm not sure if it's feasible.

My current plan is finishing my Phd first. I only have a moderate undergraduate GPA and lack medical physics related experience. So I feel it's hard for me to directly apply for another PhD degee in medical physics now.

Then I'll apply for a master program in medical physics. The other option would be applying for a CAMPEP accredited certificate program prepared for individuals with a doctorate degree. Does anyone know how hard it is to get into these programs?

The thing is I don't think my current research has anything to do with medical physics. So I'm quite worried whether I can be accepted by those programs mentioned above. So to increase the odds of getting into these accredited programs, I'm thinking doing a online part-time master first, like the one in UCL. I think I can also get to know this area more through this sort of program. But I don't know whether it's worthwhile and would really like to hear you guys input.