Finding all the roots of a function with Mathematica

In summary: His code is as follows:f = Log[Erf[x/7]] - Cos[x^2 - 1] + 1;rts = Reduce[f == 0 && 1 < x < 6, x]myvals = N[x /. {ToRules[rts]}]f = Log[Erf[x/7]] - Cos[x^2 - 1] + 1;rts = Reduce[f == 0 && 1 < x < 6, x];myvals = N[x /. {ToRules[rts]}]f = Log[Erf
LucianImago
Hi guys and girls of physics forums,

I have just created my account here and so this is my first post and I would like to appologise if my question may have been posted by someone else.

I am new to mathematica but I am very found of the program. So much so that I am trying to use it for one of my research projects as an alternative for mathcad which I've been using for many years and with many frustrations.

I have managed to work my way through functions and what not (I am still learning) but at the moment I've reached a delicate problem. I have this single variable function which has many roots and I would like to know how can I find them all.

I can use FindRoot and get one root at the time given I chose the proper starting value. But is there a vay I can tell mathematica to find the rest of the roots automatically? I am attaching a plot of the function which shows all the positions of the roots for a given set of parameters.

As I said I am quite knew to Mathematica so this question might sound silly but any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers

Attachments

• Energy levels r=4.png
    Energy levels r=4.png
    15.2 KB · Views: 770
Physics news on Phys.org
Use Reduce:

Code:
f = Log[Erf[x/7]] - Cos[x^2 - 1] + 1;
rts = Reduce[f == 0 && 1 < x < 6, x]
myvals = N[x /. {ToRules[rts]}]

I just used an example in Mathematica with a bunch of transcendental roots and then called Reduce to find all the zeros between 1 and 6. Reduce returns a list of logical expressions x= x1 || x=x2 || or x=x3 || and so forth.