FORTRAN- How to read a non-uniformly formatted text file

In summary: A26)',END=10) line ! read the line as a string line_code = line(1:4) ! line_code is "MASS" if (line_code .eq. 'MASS') then read(line(5:26),*) temp_int1, temp_cname, temp_dbl1 ! internal read print*, temp_int1
shitij
Hi all !

I am a little new to FORTRAN and I am sorry if the title is confusing but I couldn't come up with anything better.

I have a file of which I am showing a snippet below:

Code:
*>>>>>>>>CHARMM22 All-Hydrogen Topology File for Proteins <<<<<<<
*>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> and Nucleic Acids <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
*>>>>> Includes phi, psi cross term map (CMAP) correction <<<<<<<
*>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>   July, 2004    <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
* All comments to ADM jr. via the CHARMM web site: www.charmm.org
*               parameter set discussion forum
31  1

! references
!
!PROTEINS
!
!MacKerell, A.D., Jr,. Feig, M., Brooks, C.L., III, Extending the
!treatment of backbone energetics in protein force fields: limitations
!of gas-phase quantum mechanics in reproducing protein conformational
!distributions in molecular dynamics simulations, Journal of
!Computational Chemistry, 25: 1400-1415, 2004.
!
!MacKerell, Jr., A. D.; Bashford, D.; Bellott, M.; Dunbrack Jr., R.L.;
!Evanseck, J.D.; Field, M.J.; Fischer, S.; Gao, J.; Guo, H.; Ha, S.;
!Joseph-McCarthy, D.; Kuchnir, L.; Kuczera, K.; Lau, F.T.K.; Mattos,
!C.; Michnick, S.; Ngo, T.; Nguyen, D.T.; Prodhom, B.; Reiher, III,
!W.E.; Roux, B.; Schlenkrich, M.; Smith, J.C.; Stote, R.; Straub, J.;
!Watanabe, M.; Wiorkiewicz-Kuczera, J.; Yin, D.; Karplus, M.  All-atom
!empirical potential for molecular modeling and dynamics Studies of
!proteins.  Journal of Physical Chemistry B, 1998, 102, 3586-3616.
!
!IONS (see lipid and nucleic acid topology and parameter files for
!additional ions
!
!ZINC
!
!Roland H. Stote and Martin Karplus, Zinc Binding in Proteins and
!Solution: A Simple but Accurate Nonbonded Representation, PROTEINS: