Frequency magnetics converting to tesla?

In summary, the conversation discusses the attempt to find a relation between a frequency magnetic field and the amount of tesla needed to induce a coil. The goal is to create a device using electromagnetics to locate and desalinate saline groundwater. The process involves understanding eddy currents, analyzing fields, and detecting phase shifts in saline at a significant depth. The speaker is seeking help and clarifications on the necessary field strength and frequency shift for their project.
Erik88
Hello,

For the last 2 months I've been trying to find a relation between a frequency magnetic field and the amount of tesla a coil has to induce. When I found this forum and I thought if somebody can help me it would be you guys.

I'm a student at the TU in Delft the Netherlands and I'm trying to make a device using geophysics to find saline groundwater and then pump up the water and desaline it.

This device uses electro magnetics to induce eddy currents in the soil which a receiver coil then measures and gives certain data. This magnetic field is a field with a frequency of 150, 500, 1000 and 2500 Hz. The depth I want to reach is minimum of 60 meters (180 feet) and the least inductive ground that we can have has a conductivity of 1 mS. Now to design the coil that needs to take care of this magnetic field we need the amount of tesla we need to calculate the current that flows through the coil.

I would be so happy if somebody knows how to do this!
Thanks!
Erik

Physics news on Phys.org
There is no relation between the frequency of the oscillation of the magnetic field and the magnetic field strength. A stronger magnetic field will just give a stronger signal, and require a higher voltage and larger currents to drive the coil.