Friction acting on a ball (2D)

In summary, the coder is using an impulse-based approach to resolve velocities in their collision resolution system. One issue they are facing is friction not acting on a rolling ball. This is due to the assumption that the surface is rigid, when in reality it is elastic and causes the ball to constantly roll up a small hill. To account for this, the coder can add a "rolling friction" term to their code. Additionally, air resistance may also play a role in slowing down the ball.
Xcrypt
Hello, I am a coder trying to build a game 2D rigid body physics engine.
So far I am working with an impulse-based approach and all is going pretty decent.
Everything does it's job, except one thing: friction acting on a rolling ball.

First I will explain how my collision resolution system works and then I will be more specific about the rolling ball.

My collision resolution system:

When a body hits another body, the collision detection system returns some info:
- a contactpoint : P
- a contactnormal : n
- a contacttangent : t

the next step is to resolve the velocities with an impulse-based approach

1) check the relative velocity of both bodies:
Vr = (v0+(w0 X (P-p0)) - (v1+(w1 X (P-p1)))

where
v: velocity of the body,
w: angular velocity of the body,
p: position of the body
X: vector/cross product

2) project Vr on the n & t to find out the relative velocity in contact coordinates
Vr_C.x= Vr ° n
Vr_C.y= Vr ° t

where
°: scalar/dot product

3) find out the required change in velocity along normal due to the collision
dV_C.x = -(1+restitution)(Vr_C.x)

4) find out the required change in velocity along tangent due to (static) friction
dV_C.y = -Vr_C.y

5) find the velocity per impulse applied at contactpoint along n & t
vpi_n= [ [((n X (P-p0))*iit_inv0) X (P-p0)] + 1/m0 + [((n X (P-p1))*iit_inv1) X (P-p1)] + 1/m1 ] ° n
vpi_t= [ [((t X (P-p0))*iit_inv0) X (P-p0)] + 1/m0 + [((t X (P-p1))*iit_inv1) X (P-p1)] + 1/m1 ] ° t

where