From Software Engineering to Astrophysics Grad School

In summary: Computational astrophysics can be a really good area to focus on if you want to focus on a particular field of study. However, it's important to be realistic about what you can realistically achieve in a short amount of time without some additional support. In terms of writing a thesis, you might want to think about how you can combine your research interests into a cohesive paper. For example, if you're interested in using data analysis to study a particular topic, you might want to incorporate that into your thesis. or if you're interested in developing new computational methods for astrophysics, you might want to focus on that. It might also be worth considering doing a dissertation on a particular topic.
fissifizz
Greetings everyone. I am an undergrad currently majoring in Computer Science with a minor in Physics. I entered college as a physics student because I wanted to pursue astrophysics as a career. After my first 1.5 years of courses and a summer research experience, I concluded that a career in research/academia wouldn't suit me. Following that, I switched to CS as I already had lots of interest in it and it provides a great job outlook.

As far as immediate post graduation plans, I plan to start my career in software engineering, and I have done previous internships and received offers for companies who pay well and who I'd like to work for. However, the physics bug keeps biting me. I keep thinking about possibly going to grad school for astrophysics in the future after working for some time. The reason is because I asked myself two questions - (1) If money were of no concern to me or my family, what would I do? (2) What work excites me the most? And the answer to both those questions is probably astrophysics. For those reasons, I wouldn't want to completely shut that door without giving it some more serious consideration.