Gaussian wavepacket as a solution of the Schrödinger equation

In summary: If not, I suggest that you try that first. In summary, the conversation is about finding a proof that the Gaussian wavepacket is a solution to the Schrödinger equation. The advice given is to differentiate and someone suggests using LaTeX for easier communication and debugging. It is also recommended to try verifying simpler wave functions as solutions before tackling the Gaussian wavepacket.
JorgeM
Homework Statement
Hello everyone.
I need to find out that the gaussian wavepacket is a solution of the Schrödinger equation.
I first tought that It would be so much easier just to calculate the derivatives and to probe that gaussian equation satisfies Schrodinger's equation but it did not result easy at all.
Do you know any book or place where to find this in the simplest way possible (even the demonstration and not just the probe)
I'm relatively new in studying quantum mechanics so many concepts are new to me.
Relevant Equations
Schrodinger's equation
The Schrödinger equation I need to prove is this one
imagen1.jpg

And the Gaussian wavepacket is found here
imagen2.jpg

Thanks for your advice.

JorgeM

<Moderator's note: upload images to PhysicsForums. Do not use external image servers.>

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
See:
Introduction to Quantum Mechanics, D.J Griffiths
Quantum Mechanics, N. Zettili

JorgeM said:
Homework Statement:: Hello everyone.
I need to find out that the gaussian wavepacket is a solution of the Schrödinger equation.
I first tought that It would be so much easier just to calculate the derivatives and to probe that gaussian equation satisfies Schrodinger's equation but it did not result easy at all.
Do you know any book or place where to find this in the simplest way possible (even the demonstration and not just the probe)
I'm relatively new in studying quantum mechanics so many concepts are new to me.
Relevant Equations:: Schrodinger's equation