Geometric Sets and Tangent Subspaces - McInnerney, Example 3

In summary: Yes, you are right. The points of S are different from vectors in that they have no magnitude or direction.
Math Amateur
Gold Member
MHB
I am reading Andrew McInerney's book: First Steps in Differential Geometry: Riemannian, Contact, Symplectic ...

I am currently focussed on Chapter 3: Advanced Calculus ... and in particular I am studying Section 3.3 Geometric Sets and Subspaces of [itex]T_p ( \mathbb{R}^n )[/itex] ...

I need help with a basic aspect of Example 3.3.7 ...

Example 3.3.7 reads as follows:
?temp_hash=0b3a241837e88ef8f6527ecc2b6304a4.png

Question 1

In the above text we read:

" ... ... Let [itex]p = ( x_0, y_0, z_0 ) \in S[/itex] i.e. [itex]2 x_0 - 3 y_0 - z_0 = 0[/itex]. ... ... "... BUT ... as I read the example ... ... we have that [itex]2 x_0 - 3 y_0 - z_0 = 0[/itex] is the equation of [itex]c(t)[/itex] at [itex]( x_0, y_0, z_0 )[/itex] ... AND ... again as I see it ... this is not all of [itex]S[/itex] as [itex]c[/itex] maps [itex]I[/itex] into [itex]S[/itex] ... thus a general point [itex]p = ( x_0, y_0, z_0 ) \in S[/itex] may not satisfy the equation as it may not be in the range of [itex]c[/itex] ...Can some please clarify my issue with the example... ? (I hope I have made my question clear ..)===========================================================

*** EDIT ***

After some reflection I now feel that all points in [itex]S = \phi (U) = ( u, v, 2u - 3v )[/itex] satisfy the equation [itex]2x - 3y - z = 0[/itex] ... so a particular point [itex]p = ( x_0, y_0, z_0)[/itex] obviously satisfies [itex]2x_0 - 3y_0 - z_0 = 0[/itex] ... is that right ... ?

Please let me know if my edit is correct ...
==========================================================

Question 2

" ... ... This discussion shows that for all [itex]p \in S[/itex],

[itex]T_p (S) = \{ (a, b, c)_p \ \ | \ \ 2a - 3b - c = 0 \} \subset T_p ( \mathbb{R}^3 ) [/itex]