Getting into a top graduate program in Mathematics/Physics

In summary, the conversation is about an international student looking to apply to colleges in the USA and considering a backup plan in case they are not accepted. They discuss the admissions process and whether it will be the same for international students. The student also mentions their interest in being part of a top research group for a potential PhD program and asks about what would make their application stand out.
Mépris
Hi,

I'm an international student and I'm looking to apply to a few colleges in the USA. However, due to the random nature of the admissions process, I may or may not get in. Experience has taught me that I have to think of a rough course of action in case things don't go as I would like them to. Henceforth, in the even that I am *not* accepted anywhere in the US, I will, hopefully, be in the Mathematics (definitely for physics - it's very under-subscribed) course of my local university.

The degree is a three-year BSc course, not much unlike those in the UK. Even the grading system is similar. While do have something similar to the GPA. called a CPA (Cumulative Point Average), degrees are awarded as either being first (>70%), upper second, lower second or third class. At any rate, is the admissions criteria going to be the same as for US students?

I don't care about rankings. I do, however, think I would care about being part of an excellent research group if I want to pursue a PhD by the end of my second year. If it so happens that I'm interested in any given subfield of mathematics or physics, I would like to know if it's even theoretically possible for a student, from a no-name university somewhere near Africa, to get into *the* graduate program with that specific research group that's at the top of the field, so to speak - whether it's the Podunk Institute of Mathematical Sciences or Harvard.