Git, staging and committing files

• Thread starter fog37
  • Start date
fog37
TL;DR Summary
Git, staging and committing files
Hello,
I started learning Git and I am very clear on some of the steps in the Git workflow. For example, we initialize a folder to be a repository with
Code:
git init

We place a file called file1.txt inside the folder, make some changes to it and stage it, i.e. we make a copy of the file in the staging area using
Code:
git add file1.txt
We can then complete the process making a commit using
Code:
git commit file1.txt
Along the way, we use commands like
Code:
git log
Code:
git status

I am not sure what do to from here. Is the command
Code:
git diff
with certain options the command to use? I guess we want to compare the file in the working directory with saved/committed versions of it....

Why is it important to use
Code:
git diff --cashed
to compare what is in the staging area with what has been committed?

At the end of the day, once we are happy with the all the changes to a file, do we use
Code:
git checkpoint hash
to take the commit/save version back into the working directory and use it/email it out?

Thank you

Last edited:
Technology news on Phys.org
After you commit files, the next common command that most people will do is to push it to some remote repository, for both backup/storage as well as sharing code with other people (they can pull down from the remote repository)

git diff alone will show you the changes in all uncommitted files that you currently have. If you specify a file name such a git diff ./path/to/file.java even if it's already been committed, it will show you the difference between the most recent version of that file, and the the version before that, showing you what has changed.