GPS Altitude Mystery at Sea Level - Solved?

In summary: It's interesting to know all of this.In summary, the GPS on the programmer's laptop was not accurate when measured against Google Maps, but the altitude reading was correct when compared to pressure altitude readings.
BoanviaFx
I'm a programmer/electronics student and I recently bought a GPS which I hooked up serially with my laptop. I didn't get into much detail of encoding the string which is output from the TX/RX pins of the GPS so I downloaded, a ready made program called "ublox 6". Longitude and latitude are accurate when compared to google maps, but the altitude measured 40m. My question is, isn't the altitude suppose to be 0m at sea level? I was next to the docks, you can confirm using these readings of my location.

Longitude : 14.496701
Latitude : 35.901414
Altitude : 41.300m

Thanks

Engineering news on Phys.org
BoanviaFx said:
Longitude : 14.496701
Latitude : 35.901414

it mite help if you told us if they were N or S and E or W !

putting them into google Earth as they are put me in the middle of the desert in NE Africa

Longitude : 14.496701 E
Latitude : 35.901414 N

Is a location right at the waterline in the harbour of Valetta, Malta.
There's no way that can be 40m above sea level

We had another thread on this recently that you should look for because I put a lot of effort into digging into the details. The short answer is that because the Earth is not perfectly uniform, sea level is not perfectly round either, whereas the GPS model is. Variations in crust thickness cause variations in sea level height that cause the discrepancy. Here's an article with a map of the discrepancy and an example:
http://www.esri.com/news/arcuser/0703/geoid1of3.html

[edit]
Found it: https://www.physicsforums.com/threads/local-gravity-effect-on-msl-and-geoid.778204/#post-4899368

Last edited:
Likes BoanviaFx