GR for a mathematician and a physicist? What's the difference?

In summary, the community has found that being taught GR from a mathematical and physics perspective can be a difficult task. It is essential to have a strong foundation in differential geometry before starting to learn GR, as the jargon is difficult to understand for those not familiar with it. The mathematics behind GR can be daunting for those not familiar with set theory and point set topology, but there are many resources available to help those who are interested in learning more.
Matter_Matters
Have members of the community had the experience of being taught GR both from a mathematical and physics perspective?

I am a trained mathematician ( whatever that means - I still struggle with integral equations :) ) but I have always been drawn to applied mathematical physics subjects and much prefer them, hence my recent jump into the weird and wonderful world of GR. Most graduate books on GR allow students to develop the necessary tools to actually apply tensor analysis and calculus to solve a problem for e.g. deriving the Schwarzschild solution. But, as soon as one steps into the big bad world of GR research papers, the jargon is incomprehensible to those not absolutely and soundly cemented in the world of Differential Geometry.

Manifolds! manifolds! manifolds is all I hear.

Now, I understand that GR is a geometric theory of gravity and hence the need for differential geometry but what ever happened to getting down and dirty with some applied tensorial mathematics?

Summary of questions

Members of the community having experience with being taught GR from both a pure mathematical (diff geom) and an applied sense.

Does publishing in GR require having both the language and skills of applying tensor analysis and calculus but also being able to speak the language of the more pure side of Diff. Geom?

Physics news on Phys.org