Graduate school admission chances

maverickca77
I am an RA currently (just a few months in) in a microbiology lab and also did undergraduate research in an HIV lab. I graduated with a 3.76 with an upward trajectory and am considering grad (PhD) school. My questions are two fold:
1. What in general are my chances for getting into a good grad school for biology?

2. I was planning on doing MD but am now just considering grad school. I have found that I like learning new cutting edge things than just learning/memorizing things and regurgitating them in the clinical setting. I feel like I like being in the lab and doing research but want to do something on the clinical side in terms of the type of research I would do (doing some research that directly affects patients). Would PhD be the right direction to do this? Or is medical school still the better option? Or some other type of graduate program?

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF.

Can you say what country you did your undergraduate degree in, and where you are considering for your PhD or MD?

Were you only interested in clinical research as an MD, or have you had some patient contacts that helped motivate you to consider pursuing your MD?

Graduated in the US and would apply in the US. I've had some patient contact but not a ton. Much more well versed in research at the bench. I just enjoy the prospect of doing work that is closer to patients rather than researching something such as protein structure which is a bit more distant. Not to say it is not important but it feels less connected to me. Thats why I feel like clinical research with some lab aspect would be enjoyable. I know I like being in the lab from my experience in undergrad and perhaps I'm not as sure about MD now because of a lack of patient contact to be totally sure.

Likes DeBangis21 and berkeman
Be aware this is Physics Forums, so you might find less biology experience than you hoped.