How Do You Balance Zinc and Nitrate in a Basic Solution?

• Thread starter KingNothing
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Chemistry
In summary, the conversation is about balancing a chemical equation in a basic solution and determining the coefficients for the reactants and products. The person is seeking an explanation for the process and the answer to check their work. They realize their mistake of labeling hydrogen as a negative ion in the reduction reaction.
KingNothing
I don't understand this question in my chemistry book. It's not homework, I'm just studying, but I would really like to know.

What are the coefficients in front of nitrate ion and zinc when the following equation is balanced in a basic solution:

___ NO3-(aq) + ___ Zn(s) --> ___ Zn2+(aq) + ___ NO(g)?

1) 2, 5
2) 2, 3
3) 3, 4
4) 3, 2

That's the nitrate ion, zinc, zinc with a 2+ charge, and NO. Can someone explain how to do this? Also, what is the answer, so I can work backwards?

So far, it looks to me like both reactants are being oxidised, so I'm left with a big half-reaction with electrons.

Physics news on Phys.org
Alright, I finally got it! As it turns out, my error the whole time was labeling H as a negative ion in my reduction reaction.

A half-reaction in chemistry is a representation of either the oxidation or reduction process that occurs in a chemical reaction. In this case, the half-reaction being referred to is the oxidation of zinc to zinc ions.

To balance the given equation in a basic solution, you must first identify the atoms that are being oxidized and reduced. In this case, zinc is being oxidized and nitrate ion is being reduced.

To balance the atoms in the half-reaction, you must add the appropriate coefficients in front of each species. In this case, the coefficients in front of nitrate ion and zinc are 2 and 5, respectively.

The balanced half-reaction would be: 2NO3-(aq) + 5Zn(s) --> 5Zn2+(aq) + 2NO(g)