Heating up water versus water with an iron brick

In summary: I know it's simple, because it's not even high school level, it's from middle school task book, but I really don't see why the answer is the way it is.So, here we go:Two identical burners heat beakers, the first of which contains 400g of water, the second 200g of water and a 200g of cast iron. In which of these beakers will water reach the boiling point first?There is also a drawing which I will attach but I don't think it's important. So, the answer is that it will reach the boiling point in both beakers simultaneously. And I don't see why. Specific heat of iron is almost 10 times lower than that of
weirdoguy
Hi guys, girls, and non-binaries. I'm a private high school teacher and I'm preparing myself to prepare others for polish physics olimpiad. So I delved into books which have a lot of tricky questions and from time to time I stumble upon one I have trouble with. And that's exactly what happened today. And since I lack self-confidence today, I needed to ask you all
wacky.png
I know it's simple, because it's not even high school level, it's from middle school task book, but I really don't see why the answer is the way it is.

So, here we go:
Two identical burners heat beakers, the first of which contains 400g of water, the second 200g of water and a 200g of cast iron. In which of these beakers will water reach the boiling point first?

There is also a drawing which I will attach but I don't think it's important. So, the answer is that it will reach the boiling point in both beakers simultaneously. And I don't see why. Specific heat of iron is almost 10 times lower than that of water so it needs less energy to heat up to 100 degrees. So overall I would say that beaker with water and iron will need less energy and (assuming both burners have the same power) it will reach the boiling point faster. What in the world am I missing?

Attachments

• processed.jpeg
    processed.jpeg
    43.5 KB · Views: 148