Help calculating force needed for a robot's basketball shot

In summary: I'm not sure about how all this would work in practice, since I'm a physicist, not an engineer. But I do know that flywheels would be an (expensive) engineering challenge.In summary, the high school robotics team is facing a challenge to build a robot that can pick up and shoot balls into a large bowl 9 feet above the ground. They are planning to use flywheels to launch the balls and will need to figure out how to give the proper momentum. The robot will have a limelight sensor to calculate its distance from the bowl and use the angular size formula to determine the distance. The team is also considering other mechanisms for launching the balls, such as an adjustable catapult-type launcher.
Truffle98
Summary:: I'm on a high school robotics team and this year one of the challenges is to have a robot that can pick up balls and shoot them into a large bowl about 9 feet above the ground. We are planning on using flywheels to launch this ball, which we will also have to figure out how to give the proper momentum. The robot will be able to detect its distance away from the top of the bowl and should be able to calculate force needed from wherever it picks up a ball.