Help me choose 8 out of these 14 courses please....

• Thread starter austinmw89
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Courses
In summary, the individual is starting their MSEE program and is considering a mix of the "Sensing and Information" track and the "Signal Processing and Communications" track. They have narrowed down their course options to 14, but can only take 8 or 9. They are seeking advice on which courses to take based on industry demand and potential salaries. However, their advisor advises them to choose classes they enjoy, not just based on job prospects. The individual mentions their interest in electronics and computer architecture, but their advisor discourages them from specializing in VLSI. They are concerned about choosing a dead-end field and need to consider paying back their student loans.
austinmw89
Hi! I'm just beginning my MSEE program and am planning to do a mix of the "Sensing and Information" track as well as the "Signal Processing and Communications" track at my university. I've narrowed my course possibilities down to 14 courses, but I'll only be able to take 8 or 9 of them. I don't have much knowledge of industry demand, outlook, salaries, etc. beyond what I'm able to google, and I know that these things can be region specific, but I'm hoping someone can give me a general sense of what course knowledge may be higher/lower in demand as well as what specializations pay better than others.

So which of these would you take?

EC505 Stochastic Processes
EC504 Advanced Data Structures
EC535 Introduction to Embedded Systems
EC508 Wireless Communication
EC521 Cybersecurity w/ Intro to Networking co-req
EC544 Networking the Physical World
EC541 Computer Communication Networks
EC516 Digital Signal Processing
EC571 Digital VLSI Circuit Design
EC513 Computer Architecture
EC517 Introduction to Information Theory
EC520 Digital Image Processing and Communication
EC519 Speech Processing by Humans and Machines