Help with magnetic field forces in a motor

In summary: For dot product, you could ask a question about the strength of the magnets and how the current moves through the coils.
CMW328i
Hi all,

Not a question about completing homework here, but I'm a teacher looking to create a realistic engineering question for an assignment.

I have an engineering scenario I've set for the assignment which is a junior engineer working for a marine engineering company so all of the questions on my assignment are relating to the development of a prototype marine research vessel.

I'm a bit stumped on the section for vectors. I will have the standard ship going one way, current going another... BUT...

I also want to cover cross product and dot product.

For cross product, I'd like to ask a question relating to the ship's diesel-electric propellers. In particular, I'd like to ask a question about the force exerted to rotate the prop shaft on an azimuth pod supplied with 6.6kV of AC power.

I believe the equation I want to use is this one:
##\overrightarrow{F}=q\overrightarrow{v}\times \overrightarrow{B}##

Now, my problem is, I don't know much about motors in a real-world context so I'm not sure what vector values to use for this question to make it realistic. Does anyone have any suggestions? I can't seem to find any useful information about how strong the magnets in the motor would be or what velocity to expect the current to move through the coils. I know I don't have details about the wire gauges involved but a ballpark figure would be sufficient.

Any suggestions for dot product questions would also be great!

Also, it's 2:30 in the morning so I could be way off base with this all together :)

Any suggestions would be greatly helpful!

Many thanks!
Chris

Physics news on Phys.org
The equation you mention tell us what happens in the individual charge carriers (the moving electrons inside the current carrying coils of the electric motor).