How can i calculate the time delay in arduino?

In summary, a student is working on a project to calculate the speed of waves in liquid using two piezoelectric elements as a transmitter and receiver. They are trying to determine the time between sending and receiving a signal and are unsure if they need to protect the elements from short circuiting. They may also need to use doppler frequency shift for more accurate results and could seek help on an Arduino forum.
salaheddine
hi every one , I'm a student in university , i have a projet it's about calculate speed of waves in liquid by to piezo electrique , one workd like emmeter and the other receppter , the distance betwin the two piezo is fixe , the probleme is i nedd to calculat the time betwin the moment who i send the signal and when i received ? and i want to know if it's ok to put piezo disque in liquide or i need to protecte theme by somthing to avoid court circuit ?
thinx

Last edited by a moderator:
Engineering news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF.

I think you can get better answers by posting your question on one of the Arundino forums.

salaheddine said:
one workd like emmeter and the other receppter
You mean transmitter and receiver?
salaheddine said:
i nedd to calculat the time betwin the moment who i send the signal and when i received ?
I guess those two instants are detected by the hardware using signals produced by the piezoelectric sensors? To compute the time elapsed between these two events, you can use millis() or micros() functions which read the on-board timer and give output in ms or μs.

You might need to coat the elements with lacquer or a very thin layer of epoxy to prevent damage to the metallisation. Are you studying surface waves? Can you draw a diagram of your transmitter and receiver location relative to the surface and waves. You may be able to use doppler frequency shift rather than a simple pulse.

anorlunda said:
Welcome to PF.