How can I compare different dogs' performance given these values?

In summary, you are exploring the idea of including weight in an athletic comparison. You think that leg weight is an important figure of merit. You think that there are structural differences in dog breeds that make some better suited for running fast.
BryanS
I haven't given much thought to the physics I studied in college a long while ago but found myself pondering some things recently and wanted to explore some thoughts... figured it might be a fun area to discuss and you might help point my brain back in a good direction...

I regularly participate with my dog in an event called "Fast CAT." The event has dogs chase a lure, which is essentially a plastic bag attached to a string, along a straight, flat plot of ground. Optical timers are set 100 yards apart to measure the total time that it takes for the dog to travel the 100 yard distance.

Dogs are compared by how fast they run. My dog, while quite athletic, is roughly 96lbs and isn't quite as fast as some of the lighter dogs of similar height. It got me thinking that there must be some way to include weight in doing some comparative calculation rather than just the typical calculation of distance and time gives us velocity that I'm so used to considering. Maybe my goal was to figure out the relative effort of various dogs rather than just compare them only based on average speed...

Given the weight of the dog (96lbs in my case), distance (100 yards in this case), and time (typically 9.2 sec or so) what can I actually calculate? I'd been looking over some power formulas and work formulas but wasn't sure if I was misinterpreting anything. Also, if other data points were collectable, what other calculations might be of interest.

Since pics make everything more fun, here's a photo of my dog running in one of these events

45590061_2149794588393710_6577866602803363840_n.jpg?_nc_cat=105&_nc_ht=scontent-atl3-1.jpg

Attachments