How Can I Improve My Maths Skills?

• Thread starter jhukin
  • Start date
In summary, the person is seeking advice on how to improve in math as they are currently studying Year 10 and struggle with the subject. They are advised to be more specific about the areas they struggle with and to practice and gain experience in order to improve. When asked for tips on getting good grades, they are reminded that understanding the material is more important than just getting good grades. The key to understanding math is to work through different types of exercises and view it as a training regime.
jhukin
Hey all, I've recently signed up to this forum and don't know what to expect from this thread. I'm currently studying Year 10 and I struggle with maths, I was wondering if youd could provide the best ways to become good and some tips on improving. Thank you!

Mathematics news on Phys.org
You might want to be more specific.

For example, Year 10 could mean a lot of things. Some people learn basic algebra in Year 10, other people learn calculus. So you'll need to be more specific. Give us a list of things you're struggling with. Maybe give some examples of why you struggle with those things.

But I'm already going to say that the only way of improving is practice and experience. If you want to be good at something sciency, then you'll absolutely need to do a lot of practice problems, especially the hard ones. There is no magic trick to understand math.

Well, this is yr 11 class, and obviously yr 10 preparing for that, what's your tips for good grades in these areaas

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    26.4 KB · Views: 432
No, I can't help you get good grades, but I can help you gain good and deep understanding of the material.

Tell us concretely some problems you've been having issues with.