Daily Habits for improving Physics/Math Knowledge and skill

• Studying
  • Thread starter majormuss
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Knowledge
In summary, the conversation suggests that as a first-year graduate student in a physics PhD program, the individual is looking for new habits to improve their knowledge and skills in physics and math. They are more interested in passive habits that do not require active studying. However, the suggestion given is to continue working hard and actively solving physics problems with pencil and paper. The use of a math calendar is also recommended as a low-key motivation to improve math skills.
majormuss
Hi,
I am a first-year graduate student in a physics phd program in the US, who is looking to adopt new habits that can directly help improve my physics/math knowledge and skills. I am not necessarily talking about memorizing math multiplication/division tricks etc. I am more interested in daily habits that allow me to "passively" improve my knowledge of advanced math/stats and physics concepts my knowledge. By "passively", I mean habits that don't require me to sit up on my desk at specific times with a notebook and a textbook, actively reading and solving problems. I am trying to improve my math/physics skillset by working smarter with better habits rather than simply working harder. Tips that incorporate technology (tablets, notebooks etc.) are even better.

Physics news on Phys.org
I have a very simple answer. However, it does not involve technical devices to do the job for you, at least not directly. Will say a notebook is convenient, but a library will do.

Stay curious! Do not stop asking why!

That is not the kind of concern that a graduate student of Physics would have. Even if first-year.

symbolipoint said:
That is not the kind of concern that a graduate student of Physics would have. Even if first-year.
Why is that? Graduate students are above the desire to become better at what they do?