How can I safely salvage and understand basic motors at home?

• Thread starter thebrainstormer
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Motors
In summary: A cheap wireless control option could be to use a small receiver and transmitter pair to control the speed and torque of the motor remotely.
thebrainstormer
This is my first post, so please excuse any mistakes I might make. Sorry in advance.

First and foremost, if anyone thinks I am being unsafe in any way, please let me know. I like to do things hands-on. I learn best that way, but I want to be safe.

I am a budding electrical engineering student and I am trying to understand how to salvage basic motors at home. I think I have salvaged a motor from an old RC truck thing that was under my house for years. I'll try to attach a pic later. Now I have looked up the info printed on the motor there and it came up with http://www.mabuchi-motor.co.jp/cgi-bin/catalog/e_catalog.cgi?CAT_ID=rc_280sa data sheet. On the motor that I have salvaged, there is a thick purple wire, a thick pink wire, and a thin brown wire. I think the thin brown wire may be ground, and the two thick ones may be connected? (See point 2 below)1. Is it correct to call this a DC motor? Could you know just by looking at it?

2. I have a 12V 900mA Class A DC transformer that I plan to use to power it. This produces 10.8 Watts, when it draws the full 900mA right?

3.When I touched the two leads of the power to the two thickest wires, there were small brief sparks and the motor seemed to jerk away. I think I was shorting out the DC voltage briefly. I think I should've tried putting + from power on one of the thick wires, and ground on the thin wire. I will try that later.

4. What it the cheapest tool I can order to control and/or monitor the speed/torque or just some basic data? Just a potentiometer for control? What about cheap wireless control? I hope to reuse this motor for other RC endeavors.