How Do You Convert Pixel Number to Wavelength in a CCD Spectrum Analysis?

In summary, you produced a colour rendering of the planetary nebula spectrum and determined the wavelength difference between the line centres of adjacent emission lines. You also found that the dispersion of the spectrum was XX Angstroms/pixel.
jaykob_hxc
Hey Guys,

i'm a first year astrophysics student and i got given this question to answer in a practical report:

Examine the spectrum of the planetary nebula derived from the diffraction grating. You will produce a colour rendering of the spectrum together with a graphical representation of intensity versus pixel number.

The pixel number scale can be replaced by a wavelength scale. Given that some of the bright emission lines are due to excited hydrogen and oxygen gas, determine a conversion between pixel number and wavelength. (Draw a graph showing pixel number on the x-axis and wavelength on the y-axis. The graph should be linear).

now i have a pixel vs intensity graph which appears to have three sharp peaks. I'm not quite sure on what I'm supposed to go from here.

thanks for your responses :)

Astronomy news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF jaykob_hxc!

jaykob_hxc said:
Hey Guys,

i'm a first year astrophysics student and i got given this question to answer in a practical report:

Examine the spectrum of the planetary nebula derived from the diffraction grating. You will produce a colour rendering of the spectrum together with a graphical representation of intensity versus pixel number.

The pixel number scale can be replaced by a wavelength scale. Given that some of the bright emission lines are due to excited hydrogen and oxygen gas, determine a conversion between pixel number and wavelength. (Draw a graph showing pixel number on the x-axis and wavelength on the y-axis. The graph should be linear).

now i have a pixel vs intensity graph which appears to have three sharp peaks. I'm not quite sure on what I'm supposed to go from here.