How do you handle algorithms (memorize vs. reference)?

In summary, the conversation discussed the coverage of classes and arrays in a programming course, and the upcoming topics of algorithms and pointers. The four basic algorithms covered in the algorithms chapter were also mentioned, and the question of how to approach them was raised. The idea of memorizing pseudocode for quicker implementation was discussed, as well as the usefulness of referencing code instead of memorizing it. It was suggested to learn the simplest algorithm and understand others for future use. The importance of using documentation and available code instead of relying on memorization was emphasized, and the use of outside experts for complex algorithms was also mentioned.
MinusTheBear
Hey everyone,

I'm in my second semester of programming which covers an introduction to C++ (the prior course was Python). We just covered classes and arrays, and are moving onto intro. to algorithms and pointers (we're currently mid-semester).

In the algorithms chapter, they covered 4 "basic" algorithms. Linear Search, Binary Search, Bubble Sort, and Selection Sort. My question is, how do you approach these? Not just from a professional standpoint, but academic, as well.

Is it useful to memorize the pseudocode to be able to implement it quicker? Or do you tend to just reference it as you need it? Next semester I start an introductory to data structures course, and then the following semester there's a data structures and algorithm course that's mandatory. So with that in mind, how should I treat these?

I'm sure some of them come more obvious as you program more, and some of them are fairly obvious how to code (like linear search). But when it comes to Binary Search and Selection sort, it doesn't come easy for me, and often I resort to looking up the pseudocode.