How does adding neutrons to an atom change the atom?

In summary: You're asking about whether or not you can afford a new one.It would be a problem to afford a new textbook,since textbooks can cost anywhere from $50-$300+. It would also be a problem to do further reading into it,since that would also cost money.
innocentlittlegirl89
How does adding neutrons to an atom change the atom?

Physics news on Phys.org
It doesn't really change the atom as a whole,it may make its nucleus more massive and possibly radioactive.The structure of the electron shells remains the same...

Off-topic:How old are you?

Daniel.

I'm almost 16, you? Umm... I have a couple more questions if you don't mind. I'm studying for finals and I totally don't understand physics. What is an isotope and an ion? An example. What is ionization and how is the atomic number of an atom determined?

Help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Hannah o:)

Good thing you told me how old you are,i've had some rather embarassing moments talking to a HS kid and telling him very complicated matters from Quantum Physics...:rolleyes:

Do you have a textbook?You're asking about definitions and examples.Any normal book should have something like that.

Daniel.

I don't have a textbook. How old are you?

Why don't you have a textbook?

I lost it.

Thanks for the help. Good night.

innocentlittlegirl89 said:
I don't have a textbook. How old are you?

Then we got a problem.I can give you the definitions without any problem,but u'll have to promiss you'll do some further reading into it,okay...?Maybe a visit to the library,something needs to be done. :wink:

"What is an isotope and an ion? An example. What is ionization and how is the atomic number of an atom determined?"