How does coding affect signal interference in digital communication systems?

In summary, the question is about quantifying the signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) for two digital communication systems operating at the same frequency and time. One system is using channel coding with a code rate of Rc, while the other is not. The SINR for system 1 (SINR1) is calculated as SNR1*Rc/(1+SNR2), where SNR1 and SNR2 are the signal-to-noise ratio per uncoded symbol at system 1 and 2's receivers, respectively. The SINR for system 2 (SINR2) is calculated as SNR2/(1+SNR1*Rc). The bandwidths of the two systems
EngWiPy
Hello all,

The following question is related to digital communication systems.

I am studying two systems operating at the same time and on the same frequency. Each system consists of one transmitter and one receiver. However, one of them, let us say system 1, is using channel coding with code rate Rc, while the other one (system 2) is not. Let SNR1 and SNR2 denote the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) per uncoded symbol at system 1's and system 2's receivers, respectively, when no interference is present.

I want to quantify SINR1 and SINR2, where SINRi is the signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) at system i's receiver. Is the following correct:

[tex]SINR_1=\frac{SNR_1\,R_c}{1+SNR_2}[/tex]

and

[tex]SINR_2=\frac{SNR_2}{1+SNR_1\,R_c}[/tex]
?

Thanks

Likes berkeman
Engineering news on Phys.org
S_David said:
Hello all,

The following question is related to digital communication systems.

I am studying two systems operating at the same time and on the same frequency. Each system consists of one transmitter and one receiver. However, one of them, let us say system 1, is using channel coding with code rate Rc, while the other one (system 2) is not. Let SNR1 and SNR2 denote the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) per uncoded symbol at system 1's and system 2's receivers, respectively, when no interference is present.